tracekmfk.blogg.se

Raspberry pi nas media server
Raspberry pi nas media server











raspberry pi nas media server

With omv out of the picture, I decided to try mirroring the disks and set up the network shares myself. That’s what I get for not reading enough before I buy stuff, I suppose. I had originally planned to use openmediavault to mirror the disks and create the network shares, but unfortunately it doesn’t support USB-connected disks. Oh, and if you are going to create a RAIDset with more than one disk, make sure they’re all the same size, otherwise the mirror will only be as large as the smallest of the disks that are part of the RAIDset!

raspberry pi nas media server

If you want to set up a single disk, or set up something like a four-disk mirror, or RAID5/6/1+0, you can use the same software I did but you’ll have to do a bit of research into the settings. I went with mirroring two disks (RAID1), so that is what I’m going to go through here. Vantec NexStar TX 3.5″ external USB3 enclosure, qty 2.4TB Western Digital Blue 3.5″ hard drive, qty 2.Official Raspberry Pi 4 power supply, qty 1.With numbers like that, I thought it would be worthwhile to try building a little RAID1/mirrored home NAS around a Pi 4. This makes for an ENORMOUS improvement in the performance of both USB: Image from ():

raspberry pi nas media server

The Pi 4, on the other hand, has entirely different hardware the USB ports (of which there are two USB3 and two USB2) have their own controller, while the on-board Ethernet has its own controller. They may have the CPU horsepower, but with the on-board Ethernet and USB sharing the same USB2 port, their performance is reportedly not all that great. It didn’t take a lot of research to find out that the Pi 1 through Pi 3+ aren’t particularly suited for NAS work. After a bit of consideration, I decided to see if I could build one with a Raspberry Pi. Our little DNS-323 has been rock solid for the last decade but it’s getting long in the tooth and it’s just pokey enough to be annoying when I’m trying to do things on it.













Raspberry pi nas media server